Recent News

  • __ TMH Foundation awards scholarships to encourage careers in healthcare June 22, 2016

    The Trumbull Memorial Health Foundation announced scholarships ranging from $1,000 to $2,500 to 11 Trumbull County residents who are planning careers in healthcare.
    “We are proud of these students’ achievements that enabled them to secure scholarships to pursue careers in healthcare,” said Patrick K. Wilson, chairman of the health foundation and a lawyer with Harrington, Hoppe & Mitchell. “The need for dedicated healthcare professionals is acute in many communities across our nation and state, including here in the Mahoning Valley, where our population is aging faster than those of Ohio and the United States in general.”
    The scholarship winners were chosen through an application process that considered students’ academic achievement, career plans and extracurricular activities. The recipients are: Sara Baugher, 2016 Southington HS graduate, Biology/Pre-Medicine at Ohio State; Lauren Harkins, 2016 Champion HS graduate, Healthcare at Kent State Trumbull; Autumn Heald, 2016 Howland HS graduate, Biology/Pre-Medicine at University of  Virginia; Hannah Jones, 2016 McDonald HS graduate, Nursing at Youngstown State; Austin Karr, 2016 Southington HS graduate, Biomedical Engineering/Pre-Medicine at Ohio State; Brooke Kulusich, 2016 Howland HS graduate, Pharmacy at University of Pittsburgh; Harlie Silberman, 2016 Hubbard HS graduate, Nursing at  Youngstown State; Alyssa Sterle, 2016 Lordstown HS graduate, Microbiology/Lab Science at Ohio State; Jacob Varga, 2014 Brookfield HS graduate, Biology/Pre-Medicine at Kent State; Taylor Vassis, 2016 John F. Kennedy HS graduate, Biology/Pre-Medicine at Ohio State; Julie Zalar, 2011 Champion HS graduate, Doctorate of Physical Therapy at Slippery Rock .
    The Trumbull Memorial Health Foundation provides grants to initiatives that advance the health of Trumbull County residents, as well as scholarships to future healthcare professionals. With assets of more than $13 million, the foundation is the successor to the Trumbull Memorial Hospital Foundation, which was created by the hospital in 1976. Since 2012, the foundation has operated separately from the hospital as an affiliate of the Community Foundation of the Mahoning Valley.

  • __ Austintown Fitch Promotes Inclusive Culture June 22, 2016

    Austintown Fitch is adding a new group to the high school’s list of extracurricular activities with the introduction of Link Crew.
    Link Crew is a high school transition program that welcomes freshman and makes them feel comfortable throughout the first year of their high school experience. This group is built on the belief that students can help students succeed.
    Next year’s juniors and seniors went through a mentor training program to be a Link Crew Leader for the 2016-2017 school year and will participate in the year-long transition plan to help Freshman. There are four main components in the year long program which include: High School Orientation, Academic Follow Ups, Social Follow Ups, and Leader Initiated Contacts.
    Transitioning to high school can be overwhelming; Link Crew is meant to provide some ease in the transition. Studies show that if students have a positive experience their first year in high school, their chance for success increases a great deal. Also, by creating real bonds between mentors and freshmen, Link Crew has helped to reduce bullying.

  • __ Penn State Shenango Honors Outstanding Students June 22, 2016

    Students of Penn State Shenango were honored at the campus’ 2016 Honors Convocation and Recognition Banquet for their outstanding academic and student leadership achievements and services.
    The recipients of the President’s Freshman Award were Andrew Craig of Hermitage; Alyssa Cutshaw of Greenville; Hallie Myers Hermitage; and Jennifer Nichols of Sharon.
    The Robert Weber Mathematics Award was given to Jacob Coryea of Sharpsville.
    The Academic Achievement Awards recipients included, beginning with baccalaureate-seeking students: Meagan Hardy of Masury, OH, Administration of Justice; Logan McChesney of Greenville, Behrend Engineering; Keith Blakemore of Jamestown, Behrend Science; Ashley Mausser of Sharon, Business; Andrew Pettitt of Youngstown, OH, Business; Cassandra McCowin of New Castle, Pre-major Business; Erin Stoops of Grove City, Pre-major Administration of Justice; Chantal Redmond of Sharpsville, Division of Undergraduate Studies; Kira Chambers of Hermitage, Engineering; Michael Lohrer of Meadville, History; Andrea Chalker of Warren, OH, Human Development and Family Studies; James Hancox of Sharon, Letters, Arts, and Sciences; Cami Smith of Aliquippa, Nursing; Nicholas Humphrey of Brookfield, OH, Science; Maryrose Kuo of Mercer, Science.
    Those students seeking associate degrees who were chosen for this year’s Academic Achievement Awards included: Breanna Peterson of Greenville, Human Development and Family Studies; Daryl Mitchell Jr. of Ellwood City, Information Sciences and Technology; Adrienne Elliot of Hermitage, Occupational Therapy Assistant; Morgan Williams of Cortland, OH, Occupational Therapy Assistant; Gabrielle Moyer of Sharpsville, Physical Therapist Assistant; CJ Branca of Hermitage, Physical Therapist Assistant.
    The following students were recognized for their high academic achievement with cumulative grade-point averages of 3.5 and above: Patricia Alfredo of Sharpsville; Miranda Altman of Jamestown; Laurie Bartholomew of Sharon; Candace Beckman of Hermitage; Catherine Croston of Aliquippa; Melinda Dunn of Hermitage; Marketta Jackson of Sharon; Danielle Johnson of Sharon; Khyana Johnson of New Castle; Alaina Kress of Sharon; Kyle Mariacher of Mercer; Brendan McAnallen of Ellwood City; Allison McClain of Youngstown, OH; Mark McCullough of Sharpsville; Haley Morris of Hermitage; Robin Newell of Hubbard, OH; William Penney of Pittsburgh; Kevin Peretic of Youngstown; Elizabeth Plyler of Vienna, OH; Sybil Rossi of New Castle; Mi’Sha Savage of Sharpsville; Katherine Shacklock of Greenville; Katelyn Spatara of Sharpsville; Shannon Whitaker of Hubbard, OH; Wendy Whitmore of Greenville.
    The Osher Foundation Re-entry Scholarships were awarded to: Brian Anisansel of Stoneboro; Brittini Bystiga of New Castle; Jennifer Perrett of Youngstown, OH; Tatiana Spencer of Niles, OH; Leah Vuich of Hermitage; and Shannon Whitaker of Hubbard, OH. This year’s Honors Program certificates were given to Khyana Johnson of New Castle; and Meagan Hardy of Masury, OH.
    Also recognized at the evening’s dinner were the many student clubs and organizations and their officers.  The campus’ clubs and organizations are run under the umbrella of the Student Government Association (SGA) with Mandy Eagler of Sharon as president.
    This year’s prestigious Eric and Josephine Walker Award was presented to Connor Lucas of Hermitage. This year’s recipient of the Dennis W. Bartholomew Outstanding Adult Student Award was Betsey Clokey of Grove City. This year’s Ann Wansack Award was presented to Riley Atterholt of West Middlesex.
    The 2015-2016 Outstanding Club member award was presented to Mi’Sha Savage of Sharpsville. The Outstanding Club Advisor was presented to Business Club Advisor Michael Wachter of Hermitage. The Outstanding Staff Member award was presented to Associate Director of Admissions, Chuck Greggs, of Stoneboro. The Outstanding Club award was presented to the Business Club.

Comments are closed.